Week 40

29 May

IMG_20130529_105327

This time last week, only 3 days fashionably late, 7lbs 11oz of Ernest George was born in a birth pool in our dining room.

We have been so dazed with sleep deprivation and heart-stopping love for our new baby that we only realised last night we hadn’t even played him a single piece of recorded music. We have been too busy singing him silly Ernie songs and squishing his delicious cheeks.

Parenthood so far is a glorious, screaming technicolour smack in the face. The emotional power of every single second of the day is set to overload. I cry at least five times a day, and find myself absent-mindedly beaming at my son at least ten times that. It’s like somebody ripped off my skin and left my nerves bare to feel every. single. thing.

Never has anything been so terrifyingly relentless and brilliant all at once.

I’ll be back with the birth story when little monkey learns to sleep for more than an hour at a time….

7 Responses to “Week 40”

  1. Florence Finds (@FlorenceFinds) May 29, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    Congratulations Penny – this is beautiful 🙂

  2. steff May 29, 2013 at 11:07 pm #

    Penny, before my phone dies (1% and I’m working out everything it’s got)… Ernie is just all kinds of perfect and that swaddle is AMAZING!! As much as I’m loving the pinksplosion that is occurring in our house I’m a little bit jealous of the robot / transformers / superhero-ness coming your way!! Xx

  3. smileykt May 30, 2013 at 6:11 am #

    Oh my god he has changed so much already! I want to squish his cheeks! x

  4. Frankie May 30, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

    Aww belated happy 1 week birthday Ernie! X x

  5. thatdadblog May 31, 2013 at 10:09 am #

    Yay!

  6. Rach M June 4, 2013 at 12:16 am #

    Gorgeous piece, Penny. Ernie is awesome. Congrats again Xx

  7. siobhanjc June 4, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    He is great and so are you 🙂

Leave a Reply

