Week 38: Kyuss – Welcome To Sky Valley

11 May

Kyuss-album04

I think we all have those records that transport us out of our mundane lives and take us away somewhere magical.

When I listen to Kyuss, I’m floating on a psychedelic sparkly cloud 10 miles up above a desert canyon. I am not on my hands and knees scrubbing the skirting boards, rigid with backache and praying this baby will turn into a slightly less awkward position for birth.

This week I have been mostly hoping that with the gut-shaking power of rumbling bass and downtuned guitars, the baby will flipflop around into prime position, thereby saving me hours of googling back-to-back babies and sobbing with the fear of being in agonising back labour for a week. On the up-side, at least I know both of my TENS machines are working now. And there are many spare batteries. Many, many spare batteries.

Back to the music. I think when you’re a youngster, or maybe during a particularly thoughtful period of your life, you have those albums or songs that let you vanish inside yourself. It definitely gets harder to lose yourself in music as you grow up, but the second you put on an old CD or song – BOOM. You’re floating in space again, suspended above the canyon, or getting whatever it is that feeling is that transports you. I think this is what inspires legions of embarrassing uncles and aunts to leap onto the dancefloor and start fist-pumping at weddings the second a song from their youth comes on. The opening notes in that song push those magic brain receptors and they’re young again, and they can get away with dancing like that (even if they really can’t).

These magic switches are also helpfully effective at distracting you from pain. Need to push out another impossible 2 kilometres in your half marathon? Put on your favourite songs, get the endorphin release, take your mind somewhere away from it all. Stub your toe? Put on something REALLY loud and angry and let it block out the pain signals. Works with broken hearts too, ask any teenager.

Anyway. Giving birth to a human out of your foof. The music admittedly might not help towards the end of it, but if the first part is going to be a muscular endurance test lasting days on end, I’d better get prepared with with as many psychological tricks as I can read up about. And two lovely, lovely TENs machines with their sticky stinging pads all over my back all at full electrocuting power.

2 Responses to “Week 38: Kyuss – Welcome To Sky Valley”

  1. Frankie May 11, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    Aw P try not to worry re back to back. Fraser was not in optimum position but they move during labour. It was all fine for us and although I felt the contractions intensely in my lower back I wouldn’t know the difference and still don’t know whether he was actually back to back or not. You will be great xxxxx

  2. siobhanjc May 12, 2013 at 11:01 am #

    I have no idea what to say about the back to back. But I do hope he moves.

    Music taking you back though? I completely get that. It takes me back to good and bad times. I was so glad when I could listen to Melancholy and Infinite Sadness without remembering which song had bad memories associated with it (I think it was one of the singles?) and when M was driving me to the airport to leave him in Canada and we had no idea how long it would be for we chose to listen to music that we would not mind losing to a sad memory!

    Any song he put on a mix CD at the beginning makes me light up (Death From Above 1979, Eagles of Death Metal, Frank Zappa, Patrick Watson…) and I find some albums take me back.

    As for albums that wash away the world? For me it will always be Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space by Spiritualised. I remember sitting on an armchair in my parents house with huge headphones on as the world dissapeared. I’d got that from Radiohead in the past but with Spiritualised? Complete out of body experience. I was talking to a colleague about that album just the other day. In fact I think I will listen to it now.

    I hope Kyuss give you what you need. I remember meeting a guy at Leeds Festival who told me his mum was cool as she was into Kyuss. Maybe one day that will be your little one!

Leave a Reply

