Week 37: Prince – Sign O’ The Times

6 May

Sign-O-The-Times-Album

The wall! I’ve hit the wall. I had such a good week of getting things done last week, but this week has involved a lot more lying in bed wondering if I’ll manage to get out of it before I piss myself.

It’s a deliciously sunny bank holiday weekend, and Sam has been busy pressure washing the back yard and reupholstering our rocking chair, whereas I spent a grand total of TWO hours walking round town on Saturday and then had to stay in bed most of yesterday with the curtains drawn to recover from my “exertions”, like some sort of sickly 18th century literature heroine. I’m not very good at feeling like I have no purpose. I am a giant, pathetic heap of sorry-for-myself. What’s annoying me most of all is that I’m STILL seeing things that need to be done, but unable to sustain the energy to get up and do any of it anymore. It’s scary that there could be, potentially, another whole month of this. Another whole month of getting progressively fatter and moanier.

Generally speaking though, I am in good spirits! I’m not at work and the sun is out. I’ve picked a good time of year to be useless and vegetating.

Oh apart from hayfever, good LORD. I’m going to have to send somebody else to the chemist for me as they won’t sell me so much as a Halls Soother anymore. The days of hiding this with a baggy jumper and buying contraband over the counter drugs are well and truly over.

No, can’t be bothered to talk about Prince either. I prefer this record to Purple Rain, which is just overplayed. That’s all you’re getting.

5 Responses to “Week 37: Prince – Sign O’ The Times”

  1. Steff Potter (@theotherpotter) May 6, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    Oh I remember that feeling so well! It does go as soon as baby arrives and you’ll be looking back on pregnancy with rose tinted glasses before you know it. RE hayfever oh my word do I remember that hell. Get yourself to the docs for some antihistamines STAT!

    It’s hard, I’m totally in the ‘need something to focus on, can’t just sit here and do nothing’ camp too, but enjoy it – shortly you’ll be wishing for those days back! And don’t stress about the things that need doing, I’ll bet most of them can wait until baby arrives, most of my list did! Granted that didn’t help with the hormonal melt downs on the run up though. Gav had a lot of lists made for him, pour soul. That man has the patience of a saint I swear it. xx

    • tokaipenny May 6, 2013 at 10:12 am #

      I definitely need to have a full day of sitting about guilt-free…can definitely see myself regretting not giving myself a break in a few weeks! those poor boys with their job lists though….getting longer by the day….

      Px

  2. thatdadblog May 7, 2013 at 9:16 am #

    Definitely give yourself a break and make the husband run about a bunch. Your main job this month is to keep baking the baby and lie about fanning yourself. If you can adopt an American Deep South accent in which to say things like “Good Lord, this heat is sapping my vitality something fierce”, then so much the better.

    P.S. I have been giving my home made version of your power pop mix plenty of spins and am still loving it! Am making a mix for a friend’s birthday and The Romantics’ “What I Like About You” is into the tracklist with a bullet.

    P.P.S Hope you didn’t piss yrself.

    • tokaipenny May 7, 2013 at 10:11 am #

      Didn’t piss self, but there is definitely still time. You will soon know the joy of waterproof mattress protectors and toddler bedwetting pads under your bedsheets. Even if I don’t do it/waters don’t break in bed, little ‘un is guaranteed to do some variety of accident in the next few years…. and that is a BRAND new mattress.

      I think that Romantics song and the Hoodoo Gurus are my favourites on that CD. Glad you’re enjoying it!

      Px

  3. siobhanjc May 7, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    I agree about Sign of the TImes and have no idea how I’d cope without antihistamines.

    I reckon rest, even if it goes against all you stand for and enjoy it if you can. You are great x

Leave a Reply

