Week 32: The Replacements – Sorry Ma, Forgot To Take Out The Trash

29 Mar

images

I’m going to go out there and say The Replacements are one of the greatest bands of all time. Go on go on go on. You know it’s true.

I have lost the ability to listen to (or, in fact, DO) anything challenging. I am rolling round and round in a world of old and comforting favourites like Placemats. I spent last weekend clearing through my CDs, torn between a nesting urge to get rid of everything I haven’t listened to in 10 years and being emotionally wracked by anything that brought back memories (that was most things) and being unable to consign a single thing to the bin pile. Needless to say, I gained very little in the way of space. What I DO have is a new and overwhelming urge to listen to Planes Mistaken For Stars and Life Detecting Coffins. Maybe I’ll have better luck at getting rid of stuff when I clear out the shoe cupboard. Or… maybe not.

Nesting (it’s a real thing apparently, and it’s happening to me) is not only giving rise to clear-outs, it’s prompting a compulsive need to clean and bake. The sad thing is that I appear to do neither very well any more, falling asleep halfway through the former, and forgetting to buy any of the right ingredients for the latter leading to some horrific “improvisations” and leading to nothing but more cleaning up and a pervading sense of my own failure.

Luckily it’s Easter and we have a joyful four days off for me to indulge these new “favourite” hobbies, plus also sleeping and eating which I could currently win Olympic events at . We’ll also be celebrating six whole years of being Team Braz-Smyth tomorrow as our two year wedding anniversary on June 4th is likely to rather dominated by the arrival of a tiny and exhausting bundle. Large chocolate eggs and much lolling on the sofa drinking tea seem to be the order of celebrations- it’s amazing how exciting I’m finding the prospect. Sam has spent the entirety of our relationship trying to get me to sit down and chill the fuck out, and I think it’s finally worked.

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Week 32: The Replacements – Sorry Ma, Forgot To Take Out The Trash”

  1. Frankie March 29, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

    What you said about tidying and baking – THAT. Hope you found some nice vegan choc eggs (carob?!) for Sam.

    • tokaipenny March 29, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

      Ha, glad it’s not just me!! Dark chocolate eggs for Sammy, milk for me šŸ™‚ Glad you’re doing well sweet, lovely to get your email, need to reply – am also SO fluffybrained!! X x

  2. thatdadblog March 30, 2013 at 6:26 am #

    Did a similar CD clearout yesterday and was quite impressed with how many things I managed to chuck. Also, have a massive pile of stuff to listen to again. Joy! Love the Replacements. “Bastards of Young” video is one of my favourites ever.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fl9KQ1Mub6Q

  3. Siobhan April 12, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    Oh I cannot tell you how much I love this, but I really do love this xx

Leave a Reply

