Week 31: Sly & The Family Stone – Stand

19 Mar

sly-and-the-family-stone-stand

Happy birthday Sly Stone! 70 today and still funky.

When I’m 70, our little boy will be 37.  Some people think you should hold back on imagining your child’s life for them, but really, who can resist? It’s like a birthday party or a wedding or meeting a famous person – impossible not to daydream about what it might be like, however hard you try. I wondered what my kids might be like even before I was pregnant, and now it’s an itch I can’t stop scratching.

I don’t waste time wondering what his career will be or any of that. I have learned the hard way that what you are on paper might not say that much about who you are as a person. But I do like to think about his personality – the things he will more than likely not escape with his gene pool (stubborness, independence, a stupid sense of humour) and the things that could go either way – will he be shy or loud or something inbetween? Technical or artistic or neither? Or both? It’s too much fun not to wonder. I wonder about things all the time, and then they never turn out the way I expect. That’s half the fun of having your head in the clouds.

I am going to be very good and not be melodramatic about my tooth this week – instead I am setting it as a pain benchmark and wondering how much labour will surpass it by, in a very detached and scientific way. The antibiotics have helped enormously but I’m still feeling cross about the lack of anti-inflammatories I’m allowed and worrying about how I’ll cope as it heals following my extraction which is booked for next week. There should be some rules about not having to go through this when you’ve already got a list of antenatal ailments as long as two pairs of arms. And also just as Easter lands and my one year of guilt-free chocolate consumption will have the mockers well and truly put on it. These things are important, you know.

Will also not be melodramatic about being first trimester tired again, recurrent bad back or the fact that work is horrible and I still have five weeks to go until I finish. WILL NOT. Will not.

Instead I will look in awe at this very exciting being wriggling underneath my t-shirt and wonder what it will be like when he’s taller than me.

 

5 Responses to “Week 31: Sly & The Family Stone – Stand”

  1. smileykt March 19, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    This is quite wonderful. Except for the painful tooth. But the rest of it warmed my heart.

    • tokaipenny March 19, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

      Thanks! I think if my tooth is getting pulled out next Tuesday then it’s an excellent excuse to start eating my Easter eggs early.

      Px

  2. thatdadblog March 21, 2013 at 10:22 am #

    I find myself wondering what my kid will be like when he / she is born. One of the things i worry about is that me and my wife are both quite similar in our shyness and anxiety around others. Hopefully we’ll pass enough of our good qualities along and be able to minimise the less desirable stuff with plenty of nurture. Argh!

    P.S. I think funk & soul are probably more important and certainly more fun than in utero Mozart etc. Keep up the good work!

    • tokaipenny March 21, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

      And post-rock and thrash metal and the rest, naturally! Thanks 🙂 Maybe your little one will surprise you and be completely different (mind you, thinking of my very loud husband, that comes with its own issues….)

Leave a Reply

