Week 24: Now! That’s What I Call Music

27 Jan

Now-37-1024x1024

Yeah yeah yeah I know I’m supposed to be picking classic records for this blog, but I have spent the entire of the past week ploughing through the Now! back catalogues and haven’t had a minute to listen to anything that isn’t a poptacular chart topping anthem.

I have been doing this for inspiration. I’m busy making the best wedding present EVER.

Five years of me being in charge of festival and party playlist making means my best friend and I are not only joined at the hip, we’re joined at the iPod. My iPod goes everywhere – including into our handbags to be snuck on at other people’s house parties when nobody’s looking. It is our obsession. The Playlist gets constantly updated with a roster of cheese, classics, cool, disco, indie anthems from our youth, golden oldies, anything you can dance to, scream at the top of your lungs to, or just shout “ohmyGODIrememberthisone!” to.

However. Over the last five months of pregnancy, our late night partying has been swapped for civilised lunching and early nights, and my friend is not only lacking her partner in crime with whom to rave til the dawn breaks, she is also iPod-less.

So the Party Pod is being created.

It’s pink. It’s sparkly. It’s filled to the guts with A DAY AND A HALF of beats, hooks and frankly bloody massive choruses.  And it will soon be all hers. Pleased with myself? Moi? Absolutely.

Groom’s gonna hate it. Never mind.

Anyway, the other news of the week is that I’m now carrying a child as big as an LP (yes! I have waited so long to be able to say this! AS BIG AS AN LP! 12″s of Baby Gaga! HUGENESS!).  There is no hiding this thing anymore, my steely abs are slowly giving up the fight and the bump is nearly out as far as the boobs. I think he’s kicking it out from the inside to be honest – this week I felt something which could only be the warp-speed double-kick of a thrash drummer. From within my own body. Does this mean we’re doing Slipknot as next week’s classic album? I think we may have to.

2 Responses to “Week 24: Now! That’s What I Call Music”

  1. Frankie January 27, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

    Oh penny congratulations!!! x x x

  2. Zan January 27, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

    Penny I LOVE this new blog! Fab 🙂

Leave a Reply

