Week 12: Parliament – Mothership Connection

3 Nov

What kind of record should you play to celebrate the fact that your ears have now moved into the correct position? What kind of record exactly? P-FUNK, BABY.

I thought I wanted to play Funkadelic, but I have since learned that Funkadelic is a whole different kettle of trips, and the sound that was in my head that I wanted to play for tiny Gaga was actually George Clinton’s other endeavour – Parliament. I’ve never listened to a Parliament record in its entirety before. It’s a perfect, joyful celebration of the alignment of ears.

There’s another reason to celebrate this week too – I have been able to eat soup and porridge (not at the same time) for the first time in six weeks. I am torn between feeling delighted that I am going to be able to get back to a healthy, non-cheese-sandwich-based diet, and feeling terrified that the ebbing of nausea means something is awry. I had not realised how much worry all this would bring. I guess it’s the start of many years of worry. Luckily, I’m pretty good at it.

This weekend we’re going to see the grandparents-to-be and I have a lovely two days off work with which to enjoy galavanting around the country and seeing many films at the Leeds International Film Festival. I am making a concerted effort to do all  the things that will soon no longer be possible (or at best will require months of prior planning). I am slowly becoming aware of how much of a luxury it is  be able to throw your toothbrush and pair of pants into a Sainsburys bag and jump in the car to go visiting at a moment’s notice.

10 days til the dating scan though….

Leave a Reply

