Week 9: Sonic Youth – Daydream Nation

10 Oct


Welcome to week one of Radio Gaga. So far I’ve been pregnant with this little swimming alien for nine weeks. I’m guessing it’s pretty healthy at the moment because I feel like I’ve been slapped with a wet fish, and all I want to do is sleep and eat cheese. Apparently this is a good sign.

The only thing that makes me feel happy and stops me wanting to assault colleagues with a stapler (thanks, raging hormones and terminal barfaciousness) is thinking about Gaga paddling about in my uterus and what our lives are going to be like now. All being well, me and this tiny being are going to be spending a lot of time together over the next 20 years. This blows my mind a touch.
When I sat down today for us to listen to our first record together, it felt really proper all of a sudden. A family activity for the family I haven’t even met yet. Crazy.

I know Gaga’s tiny ears aren’t working completely yet, which is why I picked this record – it’s one of mine and Mister’s favourites and if it gets missed now it will get picked up later. Plus it’s nice and noisy so I’m sure it’s getting through in some capacity. Boom! Sprawling, fizzy guitar deliciousness.

The first time I heard this album, it felt like I’d heard it before. As if maybe I’d heard it in the womb. If in any way I can contribute to Gaga feeling like that when it finally gets born and hears it outside of all that amniotic fluid, well, that would pretty amazing.

One Response to “Week 9: Sonic Youth – Daydream Nation”

  1. Mr WordPress October 10, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

